Ignatz Award Nominations

The Small Press Expo is inestimably proud to announce the 2015 nominations for our annual awards for excellence in independent comics, the Ignatz. Congratulations to all our nominees!
About the Award
The Ignatz Award, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is the festival prize of the Small Press Expo, that since 1997 has recognized outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The ballot is created by a panel of five cartoonists and is voted on by the attendees of the SPX festival.
The 2015 Ignatz Jury
This year the Ignatz jury was composed of: Lamar Abrams, Cara Bean, Robyn Chapman, Sophie Goldstein and Corrine Mucha.
Voting & Ceremony Attendance
Please join us at SPX 2015 on Saturday September 19th to cast your vote. Award recipients will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday evening at 9:30 p.m.. The Ignatz Awards ceremony is open to the public, with a reception to follow. Media is welcome to attend.

The Ignatz Awards gala ceremony will once again be sponsored by our friends at comiXology and their self-publishing portal: Submit. Now, to business!

The 2015 Ignatz Award Nominees Are:


Outstanding Artist

artist-carroll-emily Emily Carroll
Through the Woods

artist-luce-ed Ed Luce
Wuvable Oaf

artist-muradov-roman Roman Muradov
(In a Sense) Lost and Found

artist-tamaki-jillian Jillian Tamaki
SuperMutant Magic Academy

artist-van-sciver-noah Noah Van Sciver
Saint Cole

Outstanding Anthology or Collection

anthology-d&q Drawn and Quarterly, 25 Years of Contemporary Cartooning, Comics, and Graphic Novels
Edited by Tom Devlin, Chris Oliveros, Peggy Burns, Tracy Hurren, and Julia Pohl-Miranda

anthology-entity An Entity Observes All Things
Box Brown

anthology-how-to-happy How to Be Happy
Eleanor Davis

anthology-pope-hats Pope Hats #4
Ethan Rilly

anthology-supermutant SuperMutant Magic Academy
Jillian Tamaki

Outstanding Graphic Novel

interior ortc.indd Beauty
Kerascoët and Hubert

graphic-oven The Oven
Sophie Goldstein

graphic-rav Rav
Mickey Zacchilli

graphic-saint-cole Saint Cole
Noah Van Sciver

graphic-wendy Wendy
Walter Scott

Outstanding Story

story-doctors The Doctors
Dash Shaw

story-me-as-a-baby “Me As a Baby” from Lose #6
Michael DeForge

story-nature-lessons “Nature Lessons” from The Late Child and Other Animals
Marguerite Van Cook and James Romberger

story-sex-coven “Sex Coven” from Frontier #7
Jillian Tamaki

story-weeping-flower Weeping Flower, Grows in Darkness
Kris Mukai

Promising New Talent

pnt-mdean M. Dean
K.M. & R.P. & MCMLXXI (1971)

pnt-sophia-foster-dimino Sophia Foster-Dimino
Sphincter; Sex Fantasy

pnt-dakota Dakota McFadzean
Don’t Get Eaten by Anything

pnt-jane-mai Jane Mai

pnt-gina-wynbrandt Gina Wynbrandt
Big Pussy

Outstanding Series

series-dumb Dumb
Georgia Webber

series-frontier Frontier
Edited by Ryan Sands

series-march March
John Lewis, Andrew Aydin and Nate Powell

series-pope-hats Pope Hats
Ethan Rilly

series-sex-fantasy Sex Fantasy
Sophia Foster-Dimino

Outstanding Comic

comic-borb Borb
Jason Little

comic-nature Nature of Nature
Disa Wallander

comic-oven The Oven
Sophie Goldstein

comic-pope-hats Pope Hats #4
Ethan Rilly

comic-weeping-flower Weeping Flower, Grows in Darkness
Kris Mukai

Outstanding Minicomic

mini-devils-slice Devil’s Slice of Life
Patrick Crotty

mini-epoxy Epoxy #5
John Pham

mini-king-cat King Cat #75
John Porcellino

mini-sex-fantasy Sex Fantasy #4
Sophia Foster-Dimino

mini-whalen Whalen: A Reckoning

Outstanding Online Comic

online-bloody-footprint The Bloody Footprint
Lilli Carre

online-carriers Carriers
Lauren Weinstein

online-mombody Mom Body
Rebecca Roher

online-ohumanstar O Human Star
Blue Delliquanti

online-witchy Witchy
Ariel Ries