SPX 2017 Ignatz Awards Nominees


The Small Press Expo is inestimably proud to announce the 2017 nominations for our annual awards for excellence in independent comics, the Ignatz. Congratulations to all our nominees!

About the Award
The Ignatz Award, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is the festival prize of the Small Press Expo, that since 1997 has recognized outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The ballot is created by a panel of five cartoonists and is voted on by the attendees of the SPX festival. This year’s Ignatz image was drawn by the 2016 Promising New Talent winner, Tillie Walden.

The 2017 Ignatz Jury
This year the Ignatz jury was composed of: Neil Brideau, Glynnis Fawkes, Sara Lautman, Trungles and David Willis.

Voting & Ceremony Attendance
Please join us at SPX 2017 on Saturday September 16th to cast your vote. Award recipients will be announced at a ceremony on Saturday evening at 9:30 p.m.. The Ignatz Awards ceremony is open to the public, with a reception to follow. Media is welcome to attend.

The Ignatz Awards gala ceremony will once again be sponsored by our friends at comiXology and their self-publishing portal: Submit.

Outstanding Artist


Pablo Auladell

Paradise Lost (Pegasus Books)


Emil Ferris

My Favorite Thing is Monsters (Fantagraphics)

Manuele Fior

The Interview (Fantagraphics)

Keren Katz

The Academic Hour (Secret Acres)


Barbara Yelin

Irmina (Self Made Hero

Outstanding Anthology


ALPHABET: The LGBTQAIU Creators from Prism Comics

ed. by Jon Macy and Tara Avery (Stacked Deck Press)


Comic Book Slumber Party’s Deep Space Canine

ed. by Hannah K. Chapman (Avery Hill)


ELEMENTS: Fire – An Anthology by Creators of Color

ed. by Taneka Stotts (Beyond Press)


POWER & MAGIC: The Queer Witch Comics Anthology

ed. by Joamette Gil (P&M Press)


Spanish Fever: Stories by the New Spanish Cartoonists

ed. by Javier Olivares & Santiago Garcia (Fantagraphics)

 Outstanding Collection​

The Complete Neat Stuff (Fantagraphics)

Peter Bagge


Johnny Wander: Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us (Oni Press)

Ananth Hirsh, Yuko Ota


Hip Hop Family Tree, Vol. 4 (Fantagraphics)

Ed Piskor


Time Clock (Fantagraphics)

Leslie Stein

Boundless (Drawn & Quarterly)

Jillian Tamaki

Outstanding Graphic Novel


Band for Life (Fantagraphics)

Anya Davidson


Eartha (Fantagraphics)

Cathy Malkasian


March, Book 3 (Top Shelf)

John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell


My Favorite Thing is Monsters (Fantagraphics)

Emil Ferris


Tetris (First Second) 

Box Brown

Outstanding Story



Diana’s Electric Tongue (self-published)

Carolyn Nowak


March, Book 3 (Top Shelf)

John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell


My Favorite Thing is Monsters (Fantagraphics)

Emil Ferris


“Small Enough” from Diary Comics (Koyama Press) 

Dustin Harbin

“Too Hot to be Cool”
from Elements Anthology

Maddie Gonzales

Promising New Talent


Kelly Bastow

Year Long Summer (self-published)


Margot Ferrick

Yours (2D Cloud)


Aud Koch

“Run” from the Oath Anthology (Mary’s Monster)


Isabella Rotman

Long Black Veil (self-published)


Bianca Xunise

Say Her Name (self-published)

Outstanding Series


Chester 5000 (self-published)

Jess Fink


Crickets (self-published)

Sammy Harkham


Frontier (Youth in Decline)

ed. by Ryan Sands


Maleficium (self-published)

Sabin Cauldron


The Old Woman (self-published)

Rebecca Mock

Outstanding Comic



Canopy (Retrofit/Big Planet)

Karine Bernadou


Libby’s Dad (Retrofit/Big Planet)

Eleanor Davis


Public Relations #10 (1First Comics)

Matthew Sturges, Dave Justus, Steve Rolston, Annie Wu


 Sunburning (Koyama Press)

 Keiler Roberts


Your Black Friend (Silver Sprocket)

Ben Passmore 

Outstanding Minicomic


Our Tale of Woe

Keren Katz & Geffen Refaeli


The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairs

Celine Loup


Reverse Flaneur

M. Sabine Rear


Same Place, Same Time

Ann Xu

Tender Hearted

Hazel Newlevant

Outstanding Online Comic


Disability in the Age of Trump

Amanda Scurti


The Meek

Der-Shing Helmer


Normal Person

Perfect Maine Vacation

Lauren Weinstein


That’s Not Who We Are

Mike Dawson


Woman World

Aminder Dhaliwal