skip to Main Content

About the Award

The Ignatz Award, named for the character in the classic comic strip Krazy Kat by George Herriman, is the festival prize of the Small Press Expo, that since 1997 has recognized outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The Ignatz recognizes exceptional work that challenges popular notions of what comics can achieve, both as an art form and as a means of personal expression.

Award Categories

1. Outstanding Artist: Nominations for this category should reflect, in the Jurors’ opinion, the best execution of graphic skill by an individual within the comic medium.

2. Outstanding Anthology: This award recognizes a book or other collection of selected writings by various writers usually in the same literary form, of the same period, or on the same subject. e.g. a book of comics by various cartoonists selected from several books by many cartoonists.

3. Outstanding Collection: This award recognizes a book of selected writings from various sources by an author of the same theme or various themes. e.g. a book of selected short comics from various books by the same cartoonist.

4. Outstanding Graphic Novel: A nomination for this category is for previously unpublished material of substantial length intended to be read as a single work. A nomination in this category should represent what the Juror feels is the best overall use of art and story within the format.

5. Outstanding Story: This category is for outstanding storytelling in a comic. This may be an individual issue within a series, a one shot or a single story within an anthology. Nominations for a story within an anthology should also include the story title.

6. Promising New Talent: A person nominated in this category should be someone relatively new to the industry whose work a Juror feels deserves more recognition then it currently receives. Past nominees for the Ignatz Award cannot be nominated in this category (a list of past nominees will be provided to the Jurors). Nominations should include the title of the individual’s latest work.

7. Outstanding Series: A nomination in this category should be for a series that the Juror feels exhibits a consistent level of quality as a whole. A good individual story does not necessarily translate into a nomination for the entire series.

8. Outstanding Comic: A comic nominated in this category should represent what the Juror feels is the best marriage of both art and story in a single issue of a comic.

9. Outstanding Minicomic: This category includes both one-shots and series. Minicomics are predominantly self-distributed and typically not solicited through major distributors.

10. Outstanding Online Comic: This category is for web based comics. A nominee in this category can be an individual comic, continuing storyline comic or strips. For a work to be eligible in this category it must be published on the web prior to appearing in print format. Nominated sites must also adhere to the same publishing timeline as the categories for print material.

Voting & Ceremony Attendance

Voting will be be via emailed ballot. You do not need to attend SPX in person in order to vote.

Ballots will become available mid-late August, after the jurors have completed their nominating process.

Award recipients will be announced at the Ignatz Awards ceremony on Saturday evening September 8. The Ignatz Awards ceremony is open to the public, with a reception to follow. Media is welcome to attend.

Back To Top